Monday, January 23, 2012

Serious Teachers seems to be an excellent site for Teachers wanting to find various types of teaching jobs.
Very easy site to navigate as well as many unique features such as Find a Teacher. It is very bright and definitely well thought out.
Some things the designer may want to work on though is when you need to replace the resume it often takes too long and there are a few errors sometimes when trying to upload your photo. Otherwise the personal control panel is very smart but they should also consider adding a Spell check to their forums.

I also reviewed their online TEFL course called "Serious TEFL" and honestly I haven't found one comparable in the online market to it as of yet. I based this on price, user friendly, customer service and curriculum.

I look forward to any more comments.


  1. GlobalJan 15, 2009 11:43 AM
    I wanted a qualification to work in Japan. But I’ve since found via your employment vacancy link that nearly all employers in Japan want work experience, especially in teaching children. I’m now working in China teaching English to gain the necessary experience. A degree was all that was needed for this position, however my TEFL certificate was still beneficial. I found the course of benefit and use the lessons for guidance.I have already suggested this course to others.
  2. AnonymousJan 16, 2009 01:05 PM
    I posted my resume on Seriousteachers and although it took a few weeks, I finally got the job in China that I was looking for.
    I am glad the site allowed me to pick and choose.
  3. rachael schallerJan 25, 2009 08:40 AM
    If you are a professional ESL teacher or you´ve ever dreamed of becoming one, make your wish come true and land your dream job in Turkey, Italy, Costa Rica, China, or anywhere else. Thousands of opportunities await you at, a site with an international job board for anything in the ESL and teach abroad industry. All you have to do to get started is register for free. The site provides you with a profile with a quick built-in CV so that you can easily fill in important professional details plus allow you to post your picture which is very important to employers abroad. You can also attach files to your profile, such as a Word document of your CV or a copy of your TEFL certificate. Once your profile is filled-in, start job searching. You will see dozens of new companies posting jobs every day, and each posting shows the salary in local currency, the location, and important details such as how long the contract is and whether you need local work permits. You can apply to a job in just a few clicks. The site will send your CV for you, allowing you to write a personal message every time you send it out. Additionally, you can specify which countries you are most interested in working in, and the site will email you as soon as opportunities are posted for those places. SeriousTeachers is a great site to check out even if the idea of teaching abroad is just an inkling in your mind, because it lets you know what´s available. The site also has a forum in which members can share advice about teaching and living abroad, discuss travel plans, or compare experiences. The SeriousTeachers site is growing rapidly, which makes it an even better resource for employers and job-seekers alike. After all, the more people involved, the more connections there are to be made.
  4. Jamal CannonJan 25, 2009 09:40 AM
    I am very happy to have completed the serioustefl online course offered by seriousteachers which I have found to be very informative and enlightening. I Thank you sincerely for this education and opportunity.
  5. Connie AllenJan 25, 2009 09:41 AM
    I thoroughly enjoyed this course offerd by seriousteachers. It gave me ideas how to conduct a class as well as keep the students interested in the course. Thank you so very much.
  6. Frank ChiricoJan 25, 2009 09:43 AM
    This was a very precise, practical course for TEFL teachers.
    Thank you SeriusTEFL and Serious Teachers
  7. Gisela ChavezJan 25, 2009 09:45 AM
    I have been teaching English for a very long time and I am now on vacation. I can´t wait to get back to classes and apply everything I have learned this past month from serious tefl.
    Thank you!
  8. Kathryn JahnigenJan 25, 2009 09:47 AM
    The serious tefl course was set up to help students succeed. I was also very happy with the personalized attention I got when I needed it!
    Thank you seriousteachers for offering this course.
  9. Eric EdwardsJan 25, 2009 09:49 AM
    The content of serious tefl course is excellent, and I found that it covers all necessary information to prepare students to teach a class. However, I wished during the course that it was more structured. It would be more useful to have quizzes for each module as well as practice questions and answers.
  10. Career OpportunitiesJan 25, 2009 07:44 PM
    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
  11. GregJan 25, 2009 07:48 PM
    Best Answer
    Blog for Jobsites
  12. Sarah TynsdaleJan 25, 2009 07:51 PM
    I am so excited to see all these excellent review for SeriousTeachers and their TEFL course SeriousTefl
    I also did some searching and found this blog wih Communities Canada which has recommended seriousteachers as the featured job travel site.
  13. AnonymousJan 26, 2009 08:51 AM
    Excellent site for finding a job because it isn't just for the first few days that you put up your resume but consistently I receive job offers. The panel is amazing!
  14. RosalindJan 26, 2009 01:43 PM is an excellent site. I was offered several positions in China that were all good quality. Through SeriousTeachers,I accepted a position in Nanjing with an excellent quality school and faculty with a great salary and conditions.

    I think the quality of the offers seems to be much better here.

    I am back in Australia working for ATA TESOL College (a ESL teacher training college) and I recommend the website to all our graduates.
  15. AnonymousJan 26, 2009 06:58 PM
    I started out in my career by teaching in Africa. Then I spent many years in the U.S. teaching children, which I love. I was ready to see another part of the world. I have plenty of credentials, but because I'm older, not everyone is open to the possibilities. Fortunately, had enough opportunities for me to choose someplace where I can use my expertise and be appreciated. Of course, it's not perfect, but this is my second year and I'm still enjoying it.
  16. AnonymousJan 27, 2009 02:05 AM
    Two employers from China contacted me from details given on my internet profile and I have been working since then with one of them.
    Thank you for the opportunity of being able to place my details so that they could be scanned by prospective employers,
  17. AnonymousJan 27, 2009 02:44 AM
    I found to be an excellent site. I was offered several positions in Asia and though I accepted a position elsewhere I would still consider returning to this site if I were back on the market again.

    The offers I received on this site were genuine and seemed of quality compared to elsewhere.
    I would definitely recommend this website.
  18. AnonymousJan 27, 2009 06:16 AM

    I registered with seriousteachers and was very pleased with the daily job offers and feedback. I highly recommend this website to anyone serious about finding employment abroad. Thanks to all who make this possible for teachers.
  19. AnonymousJan 28, 2009 07:32 AM
    I have been in the TESOL industry quite a long time and have taught English in many countries. I found that serious teachers website is very useful for my job search. At the moment I am involved with educational research and will be using this website again in the future very soon. A great site for every teacher. I recommend this site for very serious teachers without any hesitation.

  20. AnonymousJan 30, 2009 07:42 PM
    I have had my resume uploaded to your site. I enjoy receiving many offers on a daily basis from different countries.
    I have recently applied to one of those listings. Your site is
    different in that most of the employers are in direct contact with the teachers.
    Again, thank you from Bangkok. The problem that I'm having in Thailand is that most schools don't pay for insurance or
    housing. The climate and people are warm but the money to be spent on teachers is low. Almost every teacher gets food poisoning and it can be horrific.... But this is one of the choices in living in a 3rd world county (developing nation). I'm from the US and maybe
    have had food poisoning twice in a 25 year period.
    I hope to find a job in Taiwan or Japan in the near term. I thank you for allowing me to use your site and I will gladly tell my employer
    to consider listing with your service.
  21. AnonymousJan 30, 2009 07:43 PM
    The system is very useful in terms of knowing about jobs worldwide. Thank you for your help in the past.

    With kind regards,

    Maggie Reynolds
  22. AnonymousJan 30, 2009 07:47 PM
    As a recruiter in South Korea I am amazed to have discover this site. It has been so efficient for us especially that we need so many teachers. Instead of sorting through emails, we can access a panel and see all the teachers, mark the ones we have contacted etc. But the best is the new feature where you can view the teachers already in the country and now down to the exact city. We only need to advertise once per month which is another blessing.
    Thank you Seriousteachers and keep up the good work.
    Lee Kun-Hee
    Korea Recruitment
  23. AnonymousFeb 2, 2009 08:25 PM
    We have used Seriousteachers several times and the results have been excellent. It is great to see a website that works for you instead of one where they just put your job up and that is all they provide for you.
    Rocky Mountain School Kuwait
  24. Joe R.Feb 5, 2009 02:24 AM
    Lately, when I sign in, and apply for a job, I have to put my email address and password every time I apply. Before it wasn't like this. Also, I can only apply to two jobs then for some reason when I click on apply for the job, the page does not even come up.

    By the way, great site, and I have used it to get three jobs in three years! Thanks for having it.
  25. AnonymousFeb 17, 2009 09:11 AM
    I found their TEFL course through this site
    and so glad I did. Excellent course and then immediately after graduating I found a job through seriousteachers because the schools on that site accept SeriousTEFL certification.
    Excellent and thank you!!
  26. AnonymousFeb 17, 2009 09:14 AM
    We never realized how excellent the site was for finding teachers until we decided to advertise last week. After years of wasting money on weekly repeat ads on another site we can finally get the same results for a lot less money.
    Axis Kichijoji International School
  27. AnonymousFeb 18, 2009 06:38 AM
    I am at my new job in China, thanks for the website and i look forward, to working with so many other people around the world. I am teaching english at a major university. Thanks again. Have a great life everyone. The secret is to help someone first, afterwards, you'll have a great job, were you'll be needed. Go serious teachers.. If serious could put teachers to jobs in america, like you guys do for the world. wow!

  28. AnonymousFeb 19, 2009 06:15 PM
    I think many schools and recruiters in Korea think that this is a recruitment company but it is a commercial website for finding excellent teaching staff.
    Our school is located in Korea and we were using another paid site for years. We needed to pay almost every week on that site just to get responses. Seriousteachers is excellent the way that you get responses from highly qualified teachers for the month, in other words, every penny worth.
    I use the site every month and consistently get excellent teachers.
    Thank you
    Korea ESL Network
  29. AnonymousFeb 25, 2009 12:44 PM
    I wish I had found this site earlier. I love it! It gives me so much choice of jobs and everyday I am excited to find out which jobs are available.
    Thank you to the staff of SeriousTeachers!
  30. AnonymousMar 2, 2009 08:46 AM
    I have been offered a job with the Royal Saudi Navy in Saudi Arabia, thanks to seriousteachers
  31. AnonymousMar 2, 2009 08:47 AM
    I have been searching for a TEFL course for months. Finally I found serioustefl and enjoyed the course immensly. Very user friendly and the online exams are excellent. It was great to get my Certificate in the mail 2 days after graduating.
  32. RdmfMar 6, 2009 01:14 AM
    A site which does as it promises - it actually works and gives a good general picture of what is out there without a lot of complicated searching, and I am quite experienced in these matters.
  33. AnonymousMar 20, 2009 08:43 PM
    Really excellent site for finding teachers. As a school in Germany we are constantly struggling with finding EU applicants on other sites. Seriousteachers allows us to view EU applicants from the site. Excellent idea! Finally!
  34. AnonymousMay 9, 2009 09:48 PM
    I wanted to know about online TEFL course called "Serious TEFL" Some body please help me to get this info...Thank You in advance...Nilofar(Rose).
  35. AnonymousMay 11, 2009 11:22 AM
    I was hesitant to take the course at first because I was wondering about accreditation but after doing research I realized that SeriousTEFL has the best in the industry because of the fact that hundreds of schools on seriousteachers directly accept this certification. I looked over many sites and they do not have a direct cooperation with other schools like serioustefl does. After graduation I received a job offer within 3 days from a school on their other site which recognized the course.
  36. Melanie SingerMay 11, 2009 11:24 AM
    Also SeriousTEFL has been accredited by several new organizations which I found out from their job boards and those will be posted shortly.
  37. TammyMay 11, 2009 11:27 AM
    I took Global TESOL online and it was satisfactory but my friend took Serious TEFL and what I found to be the biggest difference was that with Global I had to send in my exam etc. so it was not really online but more like correspondence but I noticed my friend did everything online and it was nicely automated on SERIOUSTEFL.
  38. MarkMay 11, 2009 11:28 AM
    I am looking forward June 1st when they post their new 120 course! I will definitely upgrade to that.
  39. Sarah TynsdaleMay 11, 2009 11:31 AM
    Glad to see all the recent comments. I will definitely be informing all the staff here at UCLA about SeriousTEFL's new accreditations and courses.
  40. AnonymousMay 12, 2009 03:47 PM
    Sarah, this course is featured in Verge Magazine.
  41. BorisMay 22, 2009 12:29 AM
    Hi Sarah, there are quite a bunch of teachers (myself included) who would prefer to teach not English language by itself, but some subject matter in English. I, for example, would like to teach Math or Physics or Geography or IT.
    I believe that this way students will have double benefit: they will learn the subject matter (Math or Physics), and at the same time they will actively use English language with all scientific terminology.
    Serious should pay a little more attention to this trend. English "per se" is good, Math "per se" is good, but you will have the real taste of education when you blend the two together. (Just like ham and eggs both are good separately, but you have it really delicious when you have fried eggs with ham.)
  42. Sarah TynsdaleMay 24, 2009 07:37 PM
    Thats an interesting point however I do think many Elementary schools abroad are 100% English so inside these schools they do teach Math, Science etc in English.
  43. TamaraJun 9, 2009 09:59 AM
    Sarah just want to inform you that I began Serious TEFL's new 120 hour Diploma course and it is excellent. The modules are so flowing but at the same time have a ton of information. Wish me luck on the exams!
  44. Tina SammersJul 9, 2009 09:42 PM
    I just completed their new 120 Hour TEFL Course and I was amazed at how user friendly it was and how much I learned from it. The next day I added my Certification to my profile on Seriousteachers and I was offered a job in Dubai, Japan and Germany. Excellent course and placement site.
  45. VIP ChinaAug 11, 2009 11:00 AM
    We have been using for years to find teaching staff for our schools in China and we have been so impressed with the features on the site which minimize our work in hiring abroad.
    Thank you
  46. Sarah TynsdaleSep 14, 2009 10:47 AM
    The site has improved recently in its speed. I am using my panel much faster for applying to jobs.
    The Featured Teacher area is really great as well.
  47. Sarah TynsdaleOct 16, 2009 01:26 PM
    Excellent new Partnership that seriousteachers is offering to teachers to earn extra income. Go to this link and you will see that you can earn $75 per TEFL Course sold. Also please let me know if you sign up and how it goes. The panel seems to be very transparent and easy to work with.
  48. AnonymousNov 20, 2009 05:50 PM
    it is great to have a resource like Serious Teachers. It is interesting to see the international opportunities afforded to teachers. Teaching and living overseas is an invaluable experience for exporting our values and culture.Keep up the good work!
  49. KorCanApr 5, 2010 03:11 PM
    For years we placed ads on Daves and when we decided to try Serious Teachers, it was the best decision ever. Excellent filtering, no more random emails and consistent applicants, not like on Daves that after a few days when the ad moves down the applicants disappear. Daves site is really outdated now and ST is completely advanced for its time saving us a lot time! Thank you
  50. AnonymousSep 26, 2010 04:30 AM
    We have hired many teachers on Serious Teachers to our public schools in South Korea through Koreaconnections Employment LTD.
  51. AnonymousDec 20, 2010 04:31 PM
    Amazing Alexa rating that SeriousTeachers now has 105,000. They are leading the industry now for the best job board and TEFL Certification.
  52. Peter WeissDec 26, 2011 10:49 PM
    As a teacher I highly recommend this site. It has many useful tools and I cannot believe how many jobs I was offered.
  53. American School of DubaiJan 8, 2012 12:14 PM
    I have been an advertiser on Daves for years. I am amazed at the much more active teacher base, the far superior filtering such as for teachers who are part of the EU and different features which make it less time consuming in the hiring process.